"Life is not easy for any of us. But what of that? We must have perseverance and above all confidence in ourselves. We must believe that we are gifted for something and that this thing must be attained."— Marie Curie, chemist and physicist

Years 11-12


The New South Wales Education Standards Authority (NESA) provides HSC courses to meet the needs of an increasingly diverse range of students. Bethany College offers students the opportunity to study an academic HSC, a vocational HSC or a mix as it offers:

  • NESA-developed courses
  • NESA-endorsed courses
  • VET Framework courses delivered at TAFE, Trade Training Centre or school.

The courses for the HSC are studied in two stages:

A Preliminary Course is regarded as assumed knowledge for the HSC course and is internally assessed. All preliminary course work must be completed before entry to the HSC course.

The HSC Course is generally based on four terms of study. HSC assessment is based on the HSC course only.

Vocational Educational Courses

  • Business Services
  • Hospitality
  • Early Childhood Education and Care
  • Entertainment

Further information concerning Stage 6 can be accessed via the NESA website:


Courses offered in Stage 6 for preliminary and HSC study at Bethany College are:

  • Ancient History
  • Biology
  • Business Studies
  • Chemistry
  • Community and Family Studies
  • Dance
  • Design and Technology
  • Drama
  • Economics
  • English (all levels)
  • Food Technology
  • Geography
  • History Extension
  • Information Processes and Technology
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Legal Studies
  • Mathematics (all levels)
  • Modern History
  • Music 1
  • Physics
  • Religion, Catholic Studies
  • Society and Culture
  • Sport, Life and Recreational Studies
  • Studies in Catholic Thought I and II
  • Studies of Religion I and II
  • Textiles and Design
  • Visual Arts
  • Visual Design
  • Work Studies




Copyright – Smartcopying: The official guide to copyright issues for Australian Schools and TAFE